Clinical fellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Spine →

Combined Orthopaedic and Neurosurgical Spine Surgery Clinical Fellowship

University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine / Calgary Spine Program (Foothills Medical Centre)

⌖ Calgary, Alberta · Canada

Profile completeness48%13 decision fields need confirmation
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Source reviewed 20 Oct 2026. Verify the current intake with the host.

Eligibility
Medical graduates from outside English-speaking countries must submit IELTS; fellows must obtain a Canadian work permit
Funding
Not stated on the official page; confirm with the host.
Deadline
Not recorded · check the official call
Duration
1 year
Hands-on status
Confirm clinical privileges directly with the host.
PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

One-year spine fellowship at Foothills Medical Centre split equally between the orthopaedic and neurosurgical spine services, open to orthopaedic and neurosurgery graduates.

Occiput to ilium surgery: anterior and posterior decompression, cervical/thoracic/lumbar stabilisation, disc arthroplasty, deformity correction, open and minimally invasive approaches, intradural/extradural oncology, craniocervical fusion, syringomyelia and Chiari; weekly clinic and about three operative days, time split equally between orthopaedic and neurosurgical services; about 2000 spinal procedures a year at Foothills.

✓
University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine - Combined Spine Surgery fellowship summary (PDF, file dated 2018)Last checked 20 Oct 2026
Review source ↗
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports.

Decision-critical fields are separated into published information, partial signals and questions that require direct confirmation.

3/6fully publishedNot an admission decision
✓Published in profile

International eligibility

Medical graduates from outside English-speaking countries must submit IELTS; fellows must obtain a Canadian work permit

≈Partially supported

Training level & pathway

Clinical fellowship · Spine

≈Partially supported

Participation / hands-on scope

Occiput to ilium surgery: anterior and posterior decompression, cervical/thoracic/lumbar stabilisation, disc arthroplasty, deformity correction, open and minimally invasive approaches, intradural/extradural oncology, craniocervical fusion, syringomyelia and Chiari; weekly clinic and about three operative days, time split equally between orthopaedic and neurosurgical services; about 2000 spinal procedures a year at Foothills.

✓Published in profile

Medical registration & licensing

Eligible for an Educational or Independent licence from the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta

✓Published in profile

Language requirement

IELTS academic version required if medical school was outside an English-speaking country

≈Partially supported

Visa & work authorisation

Fellows must meet Canada's immigration laws and obtain a work permit

NeuroSurgFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or operative privileges. Requirements may change by intake and appointment.

Data quality & missing information · 48% of decision fields recorded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

48% of tracked decision fields are published

Checked 20 Oct 2026. Unavailable details below were not published in the cited material and have not been guessed.

✓ Duration✓ Eligibility✓ Training exposure✓ Official source✓ Commencement✓ Positions✓ International eligibility✓ Medical registration✓ Language✓ Visa / work authorisation✓ Application documents✓ Application route— Funding: confirm directly— Current status: confirm directly— Deadline: confirm directly— Participation level: confirm directly— Training level: confirm directly— Examinations: confirm directly— Benefits: confirm directly— Fees: confirm directly— Insurance: confirm directly— Accommodation: confirm directly— Official contact: confirm directly— Programme director: confirm directly— Accreditation: confirm directly
Recheck cited source ↗
APPLICATION TIMELINE & ROUTE

Plan the application.

Application status
Current availability unconfirmed
Commencement
July 1 (three positions) and February 1 (one position)
Duration
1 year
Positions
5 per year
Application route
Online application via the Apply Online link on the official summary; enquiries to the Office of Surgical Fellowship
Standalone deadline
No separate deadline field is recorded; check the current official call.
Official contact
Not published in this profile
Open application source ↗
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements.

Clinical or academic eligibility

Completed or completing a Royal College (or equivalent) accredited residency in Orthopaedic Surgery or Neurosurgery; eligible for an Educational or Independent licence from the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta.

Funding and support

Not stated on the official page; confirm with the host.

Benefits, fees & relocation

Benefits not published in this profile. Programme fees are not published. Insurance details are not published. Accommodation support is not published.

Application documents

  • Curriculum vitae
  • 3 letters of reference
  • Letter of intent

Licence, examinations, language & visa

Eligible for an Educational or Independent licence from the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta Examination requirements are not published. IELTS academic version required if medical school was outside an English-speaking country Fellows must meet Canada's immigration laws and obtain a work permit

FIELD-LEVEL EVIDENCE

What was checked, and when.

These dates apply only to the named information, not the entire profile. Unlisted fields have no separate review date recorded.

HOST INSTITUTION

University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine / Calgary Spine Program (Foothills Medical Centre)

1 sourced pathway is currently indexed for this institution.

View institution profile →Visit official source ↗
SOURCE & VERIFICATION

Official programme information.

Source
University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine - Combined Spine Surgery fellowship summary (PDF, file dated 2018)
Coverage
Official programme or institutional starting point
Last checked
20 Oct 2026
Editorial status
Source-linked profile
Programme lead
Not recorded
Accreditation / recognition
Not recorded · confirm with the host or accreditor
Planned editorial review
20 Apr 2027
Open official programme page ↗
BEFORE YOU APPLY

Confirm the details
that affect your move.

  1. Is the stated intake still open?
  2. Are international graduates eligible?
  3. Does the role include hands-on clinical privileges?
  4. Which licence, visa and language requirements apply?
  5. What salary, fees, insurance and relocation costs apply?