ClinicalCurrent availability unconfirmed
Functional & epilepsy →

Stereotactic, Functional and Epilepsy Surgery Fellowship

Washington University School of Medicine, Taylor Family Department of Neurosurgery

⌖ St. Louis, Missouri · United States

Profile completeness40%15 decision fields need confirmation
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Source reviewed 8 Oct 2026. Verify the current intake with the host.

Eligibility
Applicants must have completed an ACGME-approved neurosurgery residency in the United States or Canada before the fellowship starts, or meet the criteria for an unrestricted (non-training) Missouri medical licence.
Funding
Institution-wide WashU Medicine GME Consortium housestaff stipends, 1 Jul 2026-30 Jun 2027: PGY-6 USD 88,091; PGY-7 USD 91,618; PGY-8 USD 95,032; PGY-9 USD 99,151. The fellowship page does not state the fellow's PGY level or confirm housestaff appointment.
Deadline
Not recorded · check the official call
Duration
12 months
Hands-on status
Confirm clinical privileges directly with the host.
PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

A CAST-approved 12-month functional fellowship at WashU Medicine covering stereotactic, functional and epilepsy surgery in adults and children.

Movement disorders, epilepsy, spasticity and craniofacial pain, with outpatient clinics and the inpatient surgical service at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and St. Louis Children's Hospital, plus at least one protected academic day per week.

✓
Official WashU Medicine Department of Neurosurgery fellowship pageLast checked 8 Oct 2026
Review source ↗
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports.

Decision-critical fields are separated into published information, partial signals and questions that require direct confirmation.

1/6fully publishedNot an admission decision
≈Partially supported

International eligibility

Applicants must have completed an ACGME-approved neurosurgery residency in the United States or Canada before the fellowship starts, or meet the criteria for an unrestricted (non-training) Missouri medical licence.

≈Partially supported

Training level & pathway

Clinical · Functional & epilepsy

≈Partially supported

Participation / hands-on scope

Movement disorders, epilepsy, spasticity and craniofacial pain, with outpatient clinics and the inpatient surgical service at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and St. Louis Children's Hospital, plus at least one protected academic day per week.

✓Published in profile

Medical registration & licensing

Must meet the criteria for an unrestricted Missouri medical licence.

?Confirm with host

Language requirement

No programme-specific language score is recorded in the cited profile. Confirm the clinical working language and any formal test requirement.

?Confirm with host

Visa & work authorisation

Visa, sponsorship and work-right requirements are appointment-specific and must be confirmed with the institution.

NeuroSurgFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or operative privileges. Requirements may change by intake and appointment.

Data quality & missing information · 40% of decision fields recorded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

40% of tracked decision fields are published

Checked 8 Oct 2026. Unavailable details below were not published in the cited material and have not been guessed.

✓ Duration✓ Eligibility✓ Training exposure✓ Official source✓ Medical registration✓ Application documents✓ Application route✓ Official contact✓ Programme director✓ Accreditation— Funding: confirm directly— Current status: confirm directly— Commencement: confirm directly— Deadline: confirm directly— Positions: confirm directly— Participation level: confirm directly— Training level: confirm directly— International eligibility: confirm directly— Examinations: confirm directly— Language: confirm directly— Visa / work authorisation: confirm directly— Benefits: confirm directly— Fees: confirm directly— Insurance: confirm directly— Accommodation: confirm directly
Recheck cited source ↗
APPLICATION TIMELINE & ROUTE

Plan the application.

Application status
Current availability unconfirmed
Commencement
Not published
Duration
12 months
Positions
Not published
Application route
Apply two years in advance by sending a cover letter and curriculum vitae to the department contacts (Sophie Church, sophie.church@wustl.edu; Megan Goldberg, m.goldberg@wustl.edu); an interview is required.
Standalone deadline
No separate deadline field is recorded; check the current official call.
Official contact
sophie.church@wustl.edu
Open application source ↗
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements.

Clinical or academic eligibility

Applicants must have completed an ACGME-approved neurosurgery residency in the United States or Canada before the fellowship starts, or meet the criteria for an unrestricted (non-training) Missouri medical licence.

Funding and support

Institution-wide WashU Medicine GME Consortium housestaff stipends, 1 Jul 2026-30 Jun 2027: PGY-6 USD 88,091; PGY-7 USD 91,618; PGY-8 USD 95,032; PGY-9 USD 99,151. The fellowship page does not state the fellow's PGY level or confirm housestaff appointment.

Benefits, fees & relocation

Benefits not published in this profile. Programme fees are not published. Insurance details are not published. Accommodation support is not published.

Application documents

  • Cover letter
  • Curriculum vitae

Licence, examinations, language & visa

Must meet the criteria for an unrestricted Missouri medical licence. Examination requirements are not published. Language requirements are not published. Visa and work-authorisation requirements need direct confirmation.

HOST INSTITUTION

Washington University School of Medicine, Taylor Family Department of Neurosurgery

5 sourced pathways are currently indexed for this institution.

View institution profile →Visit official source ↗
SOURCE & VERIFICATION

Official programme information.

Source
Official WashU Medicine Department of Neurosurgery fellowship page
Coverage
Official programme or institutional starting point
Last checked
8 Oct 2026
Editorial status
Source-linked profile
Programme lead
Fellowship leaders: Joshua Dowling, MD; Eric Leuthardt, MD; Sean McEvoy, MD; Jarod Roland, MD
Accreditation / recognition
Society of Neurological Surgeons CAST accreditation
Planned editorial review
8 Apr 2027
Open official programme page ↗
BEFORE YOU APPLY

Confirm the details
that affect your move.

  1. Is the stated intake still open?
  2. Are international graduates eligible?
  3. Does the role include hands-on clinical privileges?
  4. Which licence, visa and language requirements apply?
  5. What salary, fees, insurance and relocation costs apply?