ClinicalCurrent availability unconfirmed
General neurosurgery →

Doctor of Medicine in Neurosurgery

The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine

⌖ Port of Spain · Trinidad and Tobago

Profile completeness44%14 decision fields need confirmation
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Source reviewed 8 Oct 2026. Verify the current intake with the host.

Eligibility
Non-nationals must confirm full Medical Board registration and eligibility for an accredited clinical post before enrolment.
Funding
University admission does not itself establish a salaried clinical post; employment and fees must be confirmed separately.
Deadline
Institution-wide: postgraduate applications are open for Semester II 2026/2027 with a deadline of 30 November 2026; the DM-specific intake semester is not stated.
Duration
Confirm the current DM neurosurgery curriculum
Hands-on status
Confirm clinical privileges directly with the host.
PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

UWI St. Augustine's official DM neurosurgery programme, represented without inferring that an accredited clinical post is currently available.

Comprehensive neurosurgical training designed for independent consultant practice in Trinidad and the wider Caribbean region.

✓
Official University of the West Indies St. Augustine programme pageLast checked 8 Oct 2026
Review source ↗
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports.

Decision-critical fields are separated into published information, partial signals and questions that require direct confirmation.

4/6fully publishedNot an admission decision
✓Published in profile

International eligibility

Non-nationals must confirm full Medical Board registration and eligibility for an accredited clinical post before enrolment.

✓Published in profile

Training level & pathway

Doctor of Medicine specialist programme

≈Partially supported

Participation / hands-on scope

Comprehensive neurosurgical training designed for independent consultant practice in Trinidad and the wider Caribbean region.

✓Published in profile

Medical registration & licensing

DM applicants must submit evidence of registration with the Medical Board of Trinidad & Tobago.

✓Published in profile

Language requirement

English. Applicants whose first language is not English need TOEFL 500+ or IELTS overall 7 (reading/listening ≥6.5, writing/speaking ≥7).

?Confirm with host

Visa & work authorisation

Visa, sponsorship and work-right requirements are appointment-specific and must be confirmed with the institution.

NeuroSurgFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or operative privileges. Requirements may change by intake and appointment.

Data quality & missing information · 44% of decision fields recorded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

44% of tracked decision fields are published

Checked 8 Oct 2026. Unavailable details below were not published in the cited material and have not been guessed.

✓ Eligibility✓ Training exposure✓ Official source✓ Deadline✓ Training level✓ Medical registration✓ Language✓ Fees✓ Application documents✓ Application route✓ Official contact— Duration: confirm directly— Funding: confirm directly— Current status: confirm directly— Commencement: confirm directly— Positions: confirm directly— Participation level: confirm directly— International eligibility: confirm directly— Examinations: confirm directly— Visa / work authorisation: confirm directly— Benefits: confirm directly— Insurance: confirm directly— Accommodation: confirm directly— Programme director: confirm directly— Accreditation: confirm directly
Recheck cited source ↗
APPLICATION TIMELINE & ROUTE

Plan the application.

Application status
Current availability unconfirmed
Commencement
Not published
Duration
Confirm the current DM neurosurgery curriculum
Positions
Not published
Application route
Apply online through the UWI St. Augustine postgraduate application portal (Office of Graduate Studies and Research).
Standalone deadline
Institution-wide: postgraduate applications are open for Semester II 2026/2027 with a deadline of 30 November 2026; the DM-specific intake semester is not stated.
Official contact
STA-pg@sta.uwi.edu; (868) 662-2002 ext. 83064 (Office of Graduate Studies and Research, institution-wide)
Open application source ↗
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements.

Clinical or academic eligibility

A recognised medical degree, Medical Board of Trinidad and Tobago registration and appointment to an accredited neurosurgery post are required.

Training level

Doctor of Medicine specialist programme

Funding and support

University admission does not itself establish a salaried clinical post; employment and fees must be confirmed separately.

Benefits, fees & relocation

Benefits not published in this profile. Institution-wide non-refundable postgraduate application fee: TT$90 (Trinidad and Tobago nationals) or TT$204 (non-nationals). Tuition is in the Postgraduate Financial Information Booklet; postgraduate students are not eligible for GATE funding. Insurance details are not published. Accommodation support is not published.

Application documents

  • Online application via the UWI application portal
  • Certified birth certificate
  • Curriculum vitae with referee contacts
  • Two referees' reports (requested through the portal)
  • Official transcripts sent directly to STA-PGTranscripts@sta.uwi.edu
  • Certified professional certificates/diplomas
  • Evidence of registration with the Medical Board of Trinidad & Tobago (DM applicants)
  • TOEFL ≥500 or IELTS overall 7 if English is not the first language

Licence, examinations, language & visa

DM applicants must submit evidence of registration with the Medical Board of Trinidad & Tobago. Examination requirements are not published. English. Applicants whose first language is not English need TOEFL 500+ or IELTS overall 7 (reading/listening ≥6.5, writing/speaking ≥7). Visa and work-authorisation requirements need direct confirmation.

HOST INSTITUTION

The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine

1 sourced pathway is currently indexed for this institution.

View institution profile →Visit official source ↗
SOURCE & VERIFICATION

Official programme information.

Source
Official University of the West Indies St. Augustine programme page
Coverage
Official programme or institutional starting point
Last checked
8 Oct 2026
Editorial status
Source-linked profile
Programme lead
Not recorded
Accreditation / recognition
Not recorded · confirm with the host or accreditor
Planned editorial review
8 Apr 2027
Open official programme page ↗
BEFORE YOU APPLY

Confirm the details
that affect your move.

  1. Is the stated intake still open?
  2. Are international graduates eligible?
  3. Does the role include hands-on clinical privileges?
  4. Which licence, visa and language requirements apply?
  5. What salary, fees, insurance and relocation costs apply?