Clinical fellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Spine →

Winnipeg Spine Fellowship

University of Manitoba Department of Surgery, Max Rady College of Medicine

⌖ Winnipeg · Canada

Profile completeness52%12 decision fields need confirmation
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Source reviewed 22 Oct 2026. Verify the current intake with the host.

Eligibility
Applicants supply a copy of their certificate of specialty completion and medical degree; international medical graduates must hold a degree from a medical school listed in the FAIMER directory and submit an approved English-language test result.
Funding
Not stated on the official page; confirm with the host.
Deadline
May 31
Duration
One year
Hands-on status
Confirm clinical privileges directly with the host.
PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

A one-year training programme for aspiring spine surgeons combining hands-on clinical experience with research, based in the Department of Surgery at the University of Manitoba.

Fellows take part in over 200-300 spine surgeries each year covering degenerative disease, trauma, tumors, deformities and pediatric cases, join spine oncology rounds with radiation oncology specialists, and rotate through each spine surgeon's practice at the University of Manitoba.

✓
University of Manitoba Department of SurgeryLast checked 22 Oct 2026
Review source ↗
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports.

Decision-critical fields are separated into published information, partial signals and questions that require direct confirmation.

1/6fully publishedNot an admission decision
≈Partially supported

International eligibility

Applicants supply a copy of their certificate of specialty completion and medical degree; international medical graduates must hold a degree from a medical school listed in the FAIMER directory and submit an approved English-language test result.

≈Partially supported

Training level & pathway

Clinical fellowship · Spine

≈Partially supported

Participation / hands-on scope

Fellows take part in over 200-300 spine surgeries each year covering degenerative disease, trauma, tumors, deformities and pediatric cases, join spine oncology rounds with radiation oncology specialists, and rotate through each spine surgeon's practice at the University of Manitoba.

?Confirm with host

Medical registration & licensing

No programme-specific licensing field is recorded in the cited profile. Confirm directly with the host and regulator.

✓Published in profile

Language requirement

International medical graduates must submit IELTS (minimum 7.0 in each of four components), OET-Medicine (minimum grade B in each subset) or CELPIP-General (minimum 9 in each skill)

≈Partially supported

Visa & work authorisation

Visa applicants applying through a sponsoring agency should apply through their home sponsoring agency, which forwards applications to sponsoredpgme@umanitoba.ca

NeuroSurgFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or operative privileges. Requirements may change by intake and appointment.

Data quality & missing information · 52% of decision fields recorded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

52% of tracked decision fields are published

Checked 22 Oct 2026. Unavailable details below were not published in the cited material and have not been guessed.

✓ Duration✓ Eligibility✓ Training exposure✓ Official source✓ Commencement✓ Deadline✓ Language✓ Visa / work authorisation✓ Fees✓ Application documents✓ Application route✓ Official contact✓ Accreditation— Funding: confirm directly— Current status: confirm directly— Positions: confirm directly— Participation level: confirm directly— Training level: confirm directly— International eligibility: confirm directly— Medical registration: confirm directly— Examinations: confirm directly— Benefits: confirm directly— Insurance: confirm directly— Accommodation: confirm directly— Programme director: confirm directly
Recheck cited source ↗
APPLICATION TIMELINE & ROUTE

Plan the application.

Application status
Current availability unconfirmed
Commencement
August 1
Duration
One year
Positions
Not published
Application route
Complete the online application form and email the supporting application package to surg.fellowships@umanitoba.ca
Standalone deadline
May 31
Official contact
surg.fellowships@umanitoba.ca
Open application source ↗
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements.

Clinical or academic eligibility

Applicants supply a copy of their certificate of specialty completion and medical degree; international medical graduates must hold a degree from a medical school listed in the FAIMER directory and submit an approved English-language test result.

Funding and support

Not stated on the official page; confirm with the host.

Benefits, fees & relocation

Benefits not published in this profile. After an offer, uploading documents to the physiciansapply.ca portal involves associated fees, which are the responsibility of the candidate Insurance details are not published. Accommodation support is not published.

Application documents

  • Completed application form (online)
  • Letter of intent
  • Curriculum vitae/resumé
  • Three recent reference letters
  • Copy of certificate of specialty completion
  • Copy of medical degree
  • Copy of passport

Licence, examinations, language & visa

Registration requirements need direct confirmation. Examination requirements are not published. International medical graduates must submit IELTS (minimum 7.0 in each of four components), OET-Medicine (minimum grade B in each subset) or CELPIP-General (minimum 9 in each skill) Visa applicants applying through a sponsoring agency should apply through their home sponsoring agency, which forwards applications to sponsoredpgme@umanitoba.ca

FIELD-LEVEL EVIDENCE

What was checked, and when.

These dates apply only to the named information, not the entire profile. Unlisted fields have no separate review date recorded.

HOST INSTITUTION

University of Manitoba Department of Surgery, Max Rady College of Medicine

1 sourced pathway is currently indexed for this institution.

View institution profile →Visit official source ↗
SOURCE & VERIFICATION

Official programme information.

Source
University of Manitoba Department of Surgery
Coverage
Official programme or institutional starting point
Last checked
22 Oct 2026
Editorial status
Source-linked profile
Programme lead
Not recorded
Accreditation / recognition
Recognized and approved by the Max Rady College of Medicine Postgraduate Medical Education Executive Council; not accredited by the ACGME
Planned editorial review
22 Apr 2027
Open official programme page ↗
BEFORE YOU APPLY

Confirm the details
that affect your move.

  1. Is the stated intake still open?
  2. Are international graduates eligible?
  3. Does the role include hands-on clinical privileges?
  4. Which licence, visa and language requirements apply?
  5. What salary, fees, insurance and relocation costs apply?