ClinicalCurrent availability unconfirmed
Spine →

Spinal Neurosurgery Fellowship

University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center / Case Western Reserve University

⌖ Cleveland, Ohio · United States

Profile completeness40%15 decision fields need confirmation
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Source reviewed 8 Oct 2026. Verify the current intake with the host.

Eligibility
The official page does not publish eligibility criteria; confirm with the programme.
Funding
Institution-wide UH GME stipends from 1 July 2026: USD 69,825 (PGY-1) to USD 85,888 (PGY-7); the programme page does not state the fellow's PGY level.
Deadline
Not recorded · check the official call
Duration
1 year
Hands-on status
Confirm clinical privileges directly with the host.
PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

A 12-month CAST-certified spinal neurosurgery fellowship at UH Cleveland Medical Center that requires fellows to take at least two research projects through to peer-reviewed publication.

Anterior and posterior reconstructive spine surgery from degenerative disease to deformity, with over 250 cases a year (about 100 involving deformity, infection and oncology), clinic time, resident teaching, spine conference and oncology tumour board.

✓
Official University Hospitals fellowship pageLast checked 8 Oct 2026
Review source ↗
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports.

Decision-critical fields are separated into published information, partial signals and questions that require direct confirmation.

1/6fully publishedNot an admission decision
?Confirm with host

International eligibility

The official page does not publish eligibility criteria; confirm with the programme.

≈Partially supported

Training level & pathway

Clinical · Spine

≈Partially supported

Participation / hands-on scope

Anterior and posterior reconstructive spine surgery from degenerative disease to deformity, with over 250 cases a year (about 100 involving deformity, infection and oncology), clinic time, resident teaching, spine conference and oncology tumour board.

✓Published in profile

Medical registration & licensing

Fellows must be eligible for an Ohio training certificate and/or unrestricted Ohio medical licence (UH GME eligibility policy).

?Confirm with host

Language requirement

No programme-specific language score is recorded in the cited profile. Confirm the clinical working language and any formal test requirement.

≈Partially supported

Visa & work authorisation

UH GME policy: UHCMC participates in ECFMG-sponsored J-1 visas and may sponsor H-1B at its discretion (valid ECFMG certificate and USMLE/COMLEX Step 3 required); J-1 holders are not eligible to enter non-ACGME-accredited programmes.

NeuroSurgFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or operative privileges. Requirements may change by intake and appointment.

Data quality & missing information · 40% of decision fields recorded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

40% of tracked decision fields are published

Checked 8 Oct 2026. Unavailable details below were not published in the cited material and have not been guessed.

✓ Duration✓ Funding✓ Training exposure✓ Official source✓ Medical registration✓ Visa / work authorisation✓ Benefits✓ Insurance✓ Programme director✓ Accreditation— Eligibility: confirm directly— Current status: confirm directly— Commencement: confirm directly— Deadline: confirm directly— Positions: confirm directly— Participation level: confirm directly— Training level: confirm directly— International eligibility: confirm directly— Examinations: confirm directly— Language: confirm directly— Fees: confirm directly— Accommodation: confirm directly— Application documents: confirm directly— Application route: confirm directly— Official contact: confirm directly
Recheck cited source ↗
APPLICATION TIMELINE & ROUTE

Plan the application.

Application status
Current availability unconfirmed
Commencement
Not published
Duration
1 year
Positions
Not published
Application route
Continue through the official programme or institution source.
Standalone deadline
No separate deadline field is recorded; check the current official call.
Official contact
Not published in this profile
Open application source ↗
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements.

Clinical or academic eligibility

The official page does not publish eligibility criteria; confirm with the programme.

Funding and support

Institution-wide UH GME stipends from 1 July 2026: USD 69,825 (PGY-1) to USD 85,888 (PGY-7); the programme page does not state the fellow's PGY level.

Benefits, fees & relocation

UH GME benefits: at least 20 days' paid time off, educational funds, free on-site parking, on-call meal allowance, lab coats and laundry, wellness counselling and reimbursement for approved presentations. Programme fees are not published. Medical, dental and vision cover (UH employee plan, semi-monthly premiums), disability insurance and hospital-provided professional liability insurance. Accommodation support is not published.

Application documents

No verified document checklist is stored for this profile.

Licence, examinations, language & visa

Fellows must be eligible for an Ohio training certificate and/or unrestricted Ohio medical licence (UH GME eligibility policy). Examination requirements are not published. Language requirements are not published. UH GME policy: UHCMC participates in ECFMG-sponsored J-1 visas and may sponsor H-1B at its discretion (valid ECFMG certificate and USMLE/COMLEX Step 3 required); J-1 holders are not eligible to enter non-ACGME-accredited programmes.

HOST INSTITUTION

University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center / Case Western Reserve University

5 sourced pathways are currently indexed for this institution.

View institution profile →Visit official source ↗
SOURCE & VERIFICATION

Official programme information.

Source
Official University Hospitals fellowship page
Coverage
Official programme or institutional starting point
Last checked
8 Oct 2026
Editorial status
Source-linked profile
Programme lead
Gabriel Smith, MD
Accreditation / recognition
CAST (Society of Neurological Surgeons)
Planned editorial review
8 Apr 2027
Open official programme page ↗
BEFORE YOU APPLY

Confirm the details
that affect your move.

  1. Is the stated intake still open?
  2. Are international graduates eligible?
  3. Does the role include hands-on clinical privileges?
  4. Which licence, visa and language requirements apply?
  5. What salary, fees, insurance and relocation costs apply?