ClinicalRolling / contact programme
Spine →

Minimally Invasive and Complex Spine Fellowship

University of Alabama at Birmingham, Department of Neurosurgery

⌖ Birmingham, Alabama · United States

Profile completeness32%17 decision fields need confirmation
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Source reviewed 8 Oct 2026. Verify the current intake with the host.

Eligibility
Designed for neurosurgeons seeking advanced spine training; the official page does not publish formal eligibility criteria.
Funding
Institution-wide UAB GME salary scale for 1 July 2026–30 June 2027: USD 64,890 (PGY-1) to USD 91,418 (PGY-8); the programme page does not state the fellow's PGY level. Fellows hold staff privileges and serve as instructors, so confirm whether this scale applies.
Deadline
Not recorded · check the official call
Duration
Confirm with programme
Hands-on status
Confirm clinical privileges directly with the host.
PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

An advanced subspecialty fellowship at UAB in minimally invasive and complex spine surgery. Applicants contact the programme director directly.

Adult deformity, spinal oncology and outpatient minimally invasive surgery, including work at UAB's ambulatory surgery centre. Fellows hold staff privileges, take complex spine trauma call, run a weekly clinic and serve as neurosurgery instructors.

✓
Official UAB Neurosurgery fellowship pageLast checked 8 Oct 2026
Review source ↗
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports.

Decision-critical fields are separated into published information, partial signals and questions that require direct confirmation.

0/6fully publishedNot an admission decision
≈Partially supported

International eligibility

Designed for neurosurgeons seeking advanced spine training; the official page does not publish formal eligibility criteria.

≈Partially supported

Training level & pathway

Clinical · Spine

≈Partially supported

Participation / hands-on scope

Adult deformity, spinal oncology and outpatient minimally invasive surgery, including work at UAB's ambulatory surgery centre. Fellows hold staff privileges, take complex spine trauma call, run a weekly clinic and serve as neurosurgery instructors.

?Confirm with host

Medical registration & licensing

No programme-specific licensing field is recorded in the cited profile. Confirm directly with the host and regulator.

?Confirm with host

Language requirement

No programme-specific language score is recorded in the cited profile. Confirm the clinical working language and any formal test requirement.

?Confirm with host

Visa & work authorisation

Visa, sponsorship and work-right requirements are appointment-specific and must be confirmed with the institution.

NeuroSurgFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or operative privileges. Requirements may change by intake and appointment.

Data quality & missing information · 32% of decision fields recorded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

32% of tracked decision fields are published

Checked 8 Oct 2026. Unavailable details below were not published in the cited material and have not been guessed.

✓ Eligibility✓ Training exposure✓ Current status✓ Official source✓ Benefits✓ Application route✓ Official contact✓ Programme director— Duration: confirm directly— Funding: confirm directly— Commencement: confirm directly— Deadline: confirm directly— Positions: confirm directly— Participation level: confirm directly— Training level: confirm directly— International eligibility: confirm directly— Medical registration: confirm directly— Examinations: confirm directly— Language: confirm directly— Visa / work authorisation: confirm directly— Fees: confirm directly— Insurance: confirm directly— Accommodation: confirm directly— Application documents: confirm directly— Accreditation: confirm directly
Recheck cited source ↗
APPLICATION TIMELINE & ROUTE

Plan the application.

Application status
Rolling / contact programme
Commencement
Not published
Duration
Confirm with programme
Positions
Not published
Application route
Contact the fellowship programme director by email.
Standalone deadline
No separate deadline field is recorded; check the current official call.
Official contact
jgodzik@uabmc.edu
Open application source ↗
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements.

Clinical or academic eligibility

Designed for neurosurgeons seeking advanced spine training; the official page does not publish formal eligibility criteria.

Funding and support

Institution-wide UAB GME salary scale for 1 July 2026–30 June 2027: USD 64,890 (PGY-1) to USD 91,418 (PGY-8); the programme page does not state the fellow's PGY level. Fellows hold staff privileges and serve as instructors, so confirm whether this scale applies.

Benefits, fees & relocation

UAB benefits and insurance plans available to residents and fellows (2026 UAB Resident Benefits Summary), plus an Educational Assistance Program. Programme fees are not published. Insurance details are not published. Accommodation support is not published.

Application documents

No verified document checklist is stored for this profile.

Licence, examinations, language & visa

Registration requirements need direct confirmation. Examination requirements are not published. Language requirements are not published. Visa and work-authorisation requirements need direct confirmation.

HOST INSTITUTION

University of Alabama at Birmingham, Department of Neurosurgery

3 sourced pathways are currently indexed for this institution.

View institution profile →Visit official source ↗
SOURCE & VERIFICATION

Official programme information.

Source
Official UAB Neurosurgery fellowship page
Coverage
Official programme or institutional starting point
Last checked
8 Oct 2026
Editorial status
Source-linked profile
Programme lead
Jakub Godzik, MD, MS
Accreditation / recognition
Not recorded · confirm with the host or accreditor
Planned editorial review
8 Apr 2027
Open official programme page ↗
BEFORE YOU APPLY

Confirm the details
that affect your move.

  1. Is the stated intake still open?
  2. Are international graduates eligible?
  3. Does the role include hands-on clinical privileges?
  4. Which licence, visa and language requirements apply?
  5. What salary, fees, insurance and relocation costs apply?