ClinicalCurrent availability unconfirmed
General neurosurgery →

Neurosurgery Specialist Training (Facharztausbildung)

Kepler University Hospital

⌖ Linz · Austria

Profile completeness48%13 decision fields need confirmation
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Source reviewed 8 Oct 2026. Verify the current intake with the host.

Eligibility
The page does not state eligibility requirements; open positions are listed on the hospital's job portal. Learning objectives follow the Austrian Medical Chamber catalogue.
Funding
Salaried hospital post; the page does not publish salary details.
Deadline
Not recorded · check the official call
Duration
36-month basic specialty phase plus 27-month specialisation phase
Hands-on status
Full clinical involvement on wards, general and specialist outpatient clinics and in theatre, with 6-monthly ward rotations; rotations at partner departments abroad are possible. Monthly in-house teaching; residents are expected to join a research group (vascular, epilepsy surgery or oncology), and a PhD is recommended.
PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

Kepler University Hospital in Linz trains neurosurgeons under the Austrian specialist training structure, with all specialty modules available in-house and a PhD recommended for residents.

All modules of the Austrian specialty can be completed on site, including vascular and endovascular, oncological, skull base, neurotrauma, spinal and paediatric neurosurgery; 6-monthly ward rotations; rotations at neurosurgical departments abroad through existing cooperations; research groups in vascular, epilepsy and oncology.

✓
Official Kepler University Hospital pageLast checked 8 Oct 2026
Review source ↗
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports.

Decision-critical fields are separated into published information, partial signals and questions that require direct confirmation.

3/6fully publishedNot an admission decision
≈Partially supported

International eligibility

The page does not state eligibility requirements; open positions are listed on the hospital's job portal. Learning objectives follow the Austrian Medical Chamber catalogue.

✓Published in profile

Training level & pathway

Specialist (Facharzt) training for qualified doctors

✓Published in profile

Participation / hands-on scope

Full clinical involvement on wards, general and specialist outpatient clinics and in theatre, with 6-monthly ward rotations; rotations at partner departments abroad are possible. Monthly in-house teaching; residents are expected to join a research group (vascular, epilepsy surgery or oncology), and a PhD is recommended.

?Confirm with host

Medical registration & licensing

No programme-specific licensing field is recorded in the cited profile. Confirm directly with the host and regulator.

✓Published in profile

Language requirement

German

?Confirm with host

Visa & work authorisation

Visa, sponsorship and work-right requirements are appointment-specific and must be confirmed with the institution.

NeuroSurgFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or operative privileges. Requirements may change by intake and appointment.

Data quality & missing information · 48% of decision fields recorded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

48% of tracked decision fields are published

Checked 8 Oct 2026. Unavailable details below were not published in the cited material and have not been guessed.

✓ Duration✓ Eligibility✓ Funding✓ Training exposure✓ Official source✓ Participation level✓ Training level✓ Language✓ Benefits✓ Application route✓ Official contact✓ Programme director— Current status: confirm directly— Commencement: confirm directly— Deadline: confirm directly— Positions: confirm directly— International eligibility: confirm directly— Medical registration: confirm directly— Examinations: confirm directly— Visa / work authorisation: confirm directly— Fees: confirm directly— Insurance: confirm directly— Accommodation: confirm directly— Application documents: confirm directly— Accreditation: confirm directly
Recheck cited source ↗
APPLICATION TIMELINE & ROUTE

Plan the application.

Application status
Current availability unconfirmed
Commencement
Not published
Duration
36-month basic specialty phase plus 27-month specialisation phase
Positions
Not published
Application route
Open training posts are advertised on the Kepler University Hospital job portal; interested doctors may also contact the specialty secretariat directly (hospital-wide guidance).
Standalone deadline
No separate deadline field is recorded; check the current official call.
Official contact
Barbara.Kneidinger@kepleruniklinikum.at
Open application source ↗
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements.

Clinical or academic eligibility

The page does not state eligibility requirements; open positions are listed on the hospital's job portal. Learning objectives follow the Austrian Medical Chamber catalogue.

Training level

Specialist (Facharzt) training for qualified doctors

Funding and support

Salaried hospital post; the page does not publish salary details.

Benefits, fees & relocation

Hospital-wide: in-house training programme for doctors in training (common-trunk and specialty modules); participation fees are paid by the employer for Kepler University Hospital staff. Programme fees are not published. Insurance details are not published. Accommodation support is not published.

Application documents

No verified document checklist is stored for this profile.

Licence, examinations, language & visa

Registration requirements need direct confirmation. Examination requirements are not published. German Visa and work-authorisation requirements need direct confirmation.

HOST INSTITUTION

Kepler University Hospital

1 sourced pathway is currently indexed for this institution.

View institution profile →Visit official source ↗
SOURCE & VERIFICATION

Official programme information.

Source
Official Kepler University Hospital page
Coverage
Official programme or institutional starting point
Last checked
8 Oct 2026
Editorial status
Source-linked profile
Programme lead
Training coordinator: OA DDr. Harald Stefanits
Accreditation / recognition
Not recorded · confirm with the host or accreditor
Planned editorial review
8 Apr 2027
Open official programme page ↗
BEFORE YOU APPLY

Confirm the details
that affect your move.

  1. Is the stated intake still open?
  2. Are international graduates eligible?
  3. Does the role include hands-on clinical privileges?
  4. Which licence, visa and language requirements apply?
  5. What salary, fees, insurance and relocation costs apply?