Clinical fellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Functional & epilepsy →

Neurosurgery/Epilepsy Fellowship

Austin Health, Department of Neurosurgery

⌖ Melbourne, Victoria · Australia

Profile completeness32%17 decision fields need confirmation
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Source reviewed 20 Oct 2026. Verify the current intake with the host.

Eligibility
Candidates are accepted from neurosurgeons world wide.
Funding
Sponsored by Austin Hospital in conjunction with Medtronic; stipend amount not stated.
Deadline
Not recorded · check the official call
Duration
One year (the department offers two year-long fellowships).
Hands-on status
Confirm clinical privileges directly with the host.
PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

Year-long epilepsy surgery fellowship in the Austin Health Department of Neurosurgery, open to neurosurgeons worldwide.

Assessment and treatment of all aspects of epilepsy surgery plus general neurosurgical work, at the Austin Hospital and the Epilepsy Research Centre, with research opportunities at the Melbourne Brain Centre.

✓
Austin Health - Brain surgery fellowshipsLast checked 20 Oct 2026
Review source ↗
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports.

Decision-critical fields are separated into published information, partial signals and questions that require direct confirmation.

3/6fully publishedNot an admission decision
✓Published in profile

International eligibility

Candidates are accepted from neurosurgeons world wide.

≈Partially supported

Training level & pathway

Clinical fellowship · Functional & epilepsy

≈Partially supported

Participation / hands-on scope

Assessment and treatment of all aspects of epilepsy surgery plus general neurosurgical work, at the Austin Hospital and the Epilepsy Research Centre, with research opportunities at the Melbourne Brain Centre.

✓Published in profile

Medical registration & licensing

The fellow should be eligible for specialist in training registration under AHPRA.

✓Published in profile

Language requirement

Applicants must have an IELTS score of greater than 7 in all four units: writing, reading, speaking and listening.

?Confirm with host

Visa & work authorisation

Visa, sponsorship and work-right requirements are appointment-specific and must be confirmed with the institution.

NeuroSurgFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or operative privileges. Requirements may change by intake and appointment.

Data quality & missing information · 32% of decision fields recorded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

32% of tracked decision fields are published

Checked 20 Oct 2026. Unavailable details below were not published in the cited material and have not been guessed.

✓ Duration✓ Eligibility✓ Training exposure✓ Official source✓ International eligibility✓ Medical registration✓ Language✓ Programme director— Funding: confirm directly— Current status: confirm directly— Commencement: confirm directly— Deadline: confirm directly— Positions: confirm directly— Participation level: confirm directly— Training level: confirm directly— Examinations: confirm directly— Visa / work authorisation: confirm directly— Benefits: confirm directly— Fees: confirm directly— Insurance: confirm directly— Accommodation: confirm directly— Application documents: confirm directly— Application route: confirm directly— Official contact: confirm directly— Accreditation: confirm directly
Recheck cited source ↗
APPLICATION TIMELINE & ROUTE

Plan the application.

Application status
Current availability unconfirmed
Commencement
Not published
Duration
One year (the department offers two year-long fellowships).
Positions
Not published
Application route
Continue through the official programme or institution source.
Standalone deadline
No separate deadline field is recorded; check the current official call.
Official contact
Not published in this profile
Open application source ↗
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements.

Clinical or academic eligibility

A postgraduate neurosurgeon with an interest in both the medical and surgical aspects of epilepsy; the fellow should be eligible for specialist in training registration under AHPRA.

Funding and support

Sponsored by Austin Hospital in conjunction with Medtronic; stipend amount not stated.

Benefits, fees & relocation

Benefits not published in this profile. Programme fees are not published. Insurance details are not published. Accommodation support is not published.

Application documents

No verified document checklist is stored for this profile.

Licence, examinations, language & visa

The fellow should be eligible for specialist in training registration under AHPRA. Examination requirements are not published. Applicants must have an IELTS score of greater than 7 in all four units: writing, reading, speaking and listening. Visa and work-authorisation requirements need direct confirmation.

FIELD-LEVEL EVIDENCE

What was checked, and when.

These dates apply only to the named information, not the entire profile. Unlisted fields have no separate review date recorded.

HOST INSTITUTION

Austin Health, Department of Neurosurgery

1 sourced pathway is currently indexed for this institution.

View institution profile →Visit official source ↗
SOURCE & VERIFICATION

Official programme information.

Source
Austin Health - Brain surgery fellowships
Coverage
Official programme or institutional starting point
Last checked
20 Oct 2026
Editorial status
Source-linked profile
Programme lead
Professors Gavin Fabinyi and Sam Berkovic
Accreditation / recognition
Not recorded · confirm with the host or accreditor
Planned editorial review
20 Apr 2027
Open official programme page ↗
BEFORE YOU APPLY

Confirm the details
that affect your move.

  1. Is the stated intake still open?
  2. Are international graduates eligible?
  3. Does the role include hands-on clinical privileges?
  4. Which licence, visa and language requirements apply?
  5. What salary, fees, insurance and relocation costs apply?